Single Mode Optical Fibers by ITU Standards

Posted by Kevin Miller on Wed, May 18, 2011 @ 14:05 PM

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is a United Nations agency involved with the development of worldwide standards for communications technology.  With the explosive growth and use of fiber optic technology around the world, a number of single mode optical fibers have been designed over the years for various applications.  Since integration of a variety of optical fibers and systems is required to achieve seamless worldwide communication, ITU developed standards for fibers that help to ensure this can happen.

     G.652 - Standard single mode optical fiber (SMF)

     G.653 - Dispersion-shifted optical fiber

     G.654 - Cut-off shifted optical fiber

     G.655 - Non-zero dispersion-shifted optical fiber (NZDSF)

     G.656 - Non-Zero dispersion for Wideband Optical Transport fiber

     G.657 - Bending loss insensitive optical fiber for access networks

Although most users of optical fiber will often refer to single mode fiber types by their popular brand names from leading manufacturers, understanding the industry specifications above will help to avoid confusion in instances where the G-specification is used instead.

Have a Question about Optical Fibers Available?

M2 Optics offers single mode and multimode fibers for a variety of applications. We customize solutions for your individual needs, including fiber type, length, housing, and more. Contact our team to figure out the best fiber type and solution for your needs.

More Optical Fiber Info

Topics: single mode fiber